Home > Beer, Brewing, Personal > New Hobby: Brewing

New Hobby: Brewing

I have taken up a new hobby, home brewing beer. Someone suggested that I put up some posts with process and beer updates, so I will take the opportunity to do just that! I am up to batch 11, all grain now! This all from seeing a Facebook for sale post for a bucket and a carboy for $25. I always wanted to try this, so why not start!

20160325_144922

I started out with a kit from Brewer’s Best, American Amber. Best comparison is to Fat Tire, hoppy amber ale. Started that on the stove, in a turkey fryer kettle. Minimal setup, steeping, etc. Not as easy as it looks, as there is a lot of organization of the steps, but we made it through.

Second one was the actual beer I wanted to try, and get into brewing. Can’t get a cranberry beer any more, so why not make your own? Cranberry into a Pale Wheat kit from Brewer’s Best.

20160325_144927

20160421_204158

Up next was another kit, Kolsch. Love this style of beer, ale that is like a lager. Chris at C&S Brew Supply in Ankeny helped out with the yeast, and I’ve been buying from them ever since.

20160514_164900

I’m drawing a blank on #4. EDIT: Kelheim Hefeweizen from a kit. This one will definitely get the all grain recipe.

20160531_211547

#5 is my first All Grain. Built the Mash Tun (used for getting the sugars out of the grain):

Inner portion is the manifold. This gets the liquid from the grain, leaving the grains. That was later modified to extract a little better. CPVC and a Sawszall. Later was drilling some small holes. Comes apart for easy cleaning.

20160604_151310

Also modified a keg to use as a boil kettle.

20160604_171251

This was another cranberry wheat, all grain instead of extract.

Went back to extract to use up some leftovers. #6 Pumpkin Amber ale.

#7 is a Lilikoi Kepolo clone from Avery Brewing. I used their grain bill for this.

This one is tasty, picture is a flat one after being bottled for a week. It’s got great head now.

#8 is an all grain Kolsch. Didn’t take any pics of this one, not quite ready. It will be ready this weekend, though. I’ll take a few from the tasting.

20160701_173008

#9 is a Fat Sam, cross between Fat Tire and Sam Adams. It’s a couple weeks out after being bottled.

#10 is a Blue Moon Clone, complete with coriander and orange peel. Also bottle conditioning.

#11 this weekend was a lemon lime hefeweizen. Just into the fermenter yesterday, this will go for a few days, then I’ll dump in a bottle of Simply Limeade. This one had great reviews.

That’s all for right now. I’ll keep updates going, now that I’ve had a little bit of interest!

Categories: Beer, Brewing, Personal
  1. Mr Chumpo
    August 19, 2016 at 5:43 pm

    Beer Nerd!

  2. August 30, 2016 at 10:40 pm

    I used to brew beer with my brother in law, we had a lot of fun doing it.
    How did the hefeweizen come out?

    When I moved away, he didn’t like doing it himself so now he makes vino.
    It’s a lot easier and he’s becoming pretty good at it.
    Or rather, his vino is getting pretty darn good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

