Home > Military, Personal, Political > Hawaii Five-0 crew disrespectful to Pearl Harbor vets

Hawaii Five-0 crew disrespectful to Pearl Harbor vets

To start with, I don’t watch Hawaii Five-0. Show was ok, but predictable. Nice scenery, especially the beginning of the show which was redone to mimic the old show’s beginning sequence. A very nice touch. But in keeping with Hollyweird’s tradition of “hate everything military cuz military bad!”, this latest story just makes my blood boil.

850KOA News Site: Hawaii Five-0 Crew Disgraceful To WWII Pearl Harbor Survivors

Hawaii News Now: Hawaii Five-O crew angers WWII vets at Punchbowl

I’m just going off of hearsay too, but everything the author states seems to be reasonable, and true. While the Executive Producer and Director of the Hawaii Five-O team seem to be in full CYA mode. You read it, and the production crew’s response, and you decide for yourself.

Hawaii Five-O lost a lot of respect, when they could have done so much better with a simple apology, or a bowed head. I’d say they lost a viewer, but they already had lost me. You be the judge if you should watch them. They have certainly lost my respect, though.

Thanks to Sean M at The H2

Edit: The Executive Producer, Peter Lenkov, has released a statement on behalf of the crew:
Hawaii Five-O Online: Statement Issued By “Hawaii Five-0″ Executive Producer Peter Lenkov

Hawaii News Now: Statement from Hawaii Five-0 on Veteran mishap

Categories: Military, Personal, Political
  1. December 14, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    I’d like to add that this behavior does not surprise me, because the Hollywood culture does not think twice about military holidays, or the military. It just completely slips their mind. I have been in the military culture my whole life, so I don’t just blow it off. This is why the behavior appalls me so. I just can’t envision doing it.

  2. December 14, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    From Lenkov’s statement:

    Our production crew is 80% staffed with local Hawaiians, many with ties to the military

    Technically that may be true, but they are several generations removed. When I lived there the young locals had no respect whatsoever for the large military presence in Oahu, and were always pissed off by the fact that we military folk got Kama’aina (long time local) priviledges. That statement is obfuscation, pure and simple.

    When we resumed filming, we did encounter visitors from the ceremony. Any rudeness by our staff can only be attributed to haste to finish our work, not a lack of respect for men and women who have served and sacrificed for their country.

    Horse, and shit. They finished well before daylight would have been a problem. And Punchbowl is HUGE. Seems to me they picked that spot because it was more convenient to them, than to the cemetery.

  3. December 14, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    And even worse, his statement calls the foundation liars.

    • December 14, 2011 at 4:35 pm

      Yep, that’s what got me. A non-apology, on top of an accusation.

      He (Lenko) is supposedly in Hawaii today. I wonder if he’ll try to meet with the vets. My bet is no. He already removed a tweet about the press release (pretty sure, as that’s where I got the statement release link in the first place).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

