Home > Personal, Political > Restaurant Assn. paid settlements, so Cain must be guilty? BS.

Restaurant Assn. paid settlements, so Cain must be guilty? BS.

I call bullshit on this. I’m reading post after post saying “where there’s smoke, there’s fire” in regards to the settlements paid by the National Restaurant Association on behalf of Herman Cain. I have a personal story about this process.

When I was younger, I was the head cook (not chef, I didn’t go to school, or apprenticeship) at a restaurant in a tourist town. We had busloads of people in every day during the summer, and we served most of them, buffet style. In other words, everybody ate from the same source. After I had been gone from this job for a period of time, I was called in as a witness in a food poisoning case. A large group of people had come through on a bus tour, and they had eaten at the restaurant I worked in. All from the buffet, and I had worked that day. So I go down to be grilled by a collection of lawyers.

We went over food preparation procedures, clean up, holding temperatures, etc. I was able to answer their questions without delay, because we paid attention to cleanliness and food safety. We had the proper equipment, they were at the proper temperatures, and the food was prepared in a safe manner. Things like cross contamination were discussed, and we had the proper procedures to combat this, like cleaning between different food preps, clean equipment, cleaning surfaces, etc. I knew the temperatures that food has to be kept at for serving, and for storage in the refrigerator. After 3 hours, I got to ask a question.

How many people got sick?

Answer: only 1 that we know of.

How is that freaking possible, if they ate at a buffet restaurant? Answer, it’s not.

Fast forward to my next visit, and I ask the owner of said restaurant what had happened with the case. He told me the insurance company had settled for “5 figures”. When it’s just not possible (ok, granted, HIGHLY unlikely) that this person was sickened by food prepared in that kitchen.

Keep that in mind as you consider that Cain, the President of the Association, said he did nothing improper, and he doesn’t know the exact stipulations of the agreements. Also, there is a non disclosure agreement on these settlements. But the Restaurant Association waived that for at least one of the claimants, and they did not come forward with any credible charges.

This tells me that the insurance company just paid them to get them to shut up. Your mileage may vary. But look at the people claiming these things. Not the most upstanding citizens, IMHO.

He didn’t handle this well, but that’s beside the point of the charges against him. Disqualify him as to the response, as I have. But keep in mind that payment does not mean admission of guilt, nor should it.

Categories: Personal, Political
  1. December 5, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    That is, I think, the best way to get a point across… by using a real life example we can imagine. Thanks J’Ames!

  2. December 6, 2011 at 8:34 am

    I have seen this from a medical perspective as well. Sometimes settlements are reached just to save money from a lengthy fight, even when the party settling is innocent.

    Bottom line always seems to trump innocence.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

